I was recently speaking a person I admire immensely concerning the need for emotional healing in order to fully fulfill our destinies. That conversation has inspired and encouraged me to take on just one more endeavor. Today marks the beginning of a series that addresses the need for emotional and spiritual healing and emphasizes how emotional healing is obtained.

 

I read posts on Facebook, Twitter and numerous other social sites as well as field multitudinous calls from those that are broken spiritually and emotionally. What I realized is that we are literally dealing with an epidemic of broken people. Sometimes I feel like I overuse the word “epidemic”. I ask myself, am I being melodramatic? The answer is no. Unfortunately, we are living in a nation of broken people. People suffering from obesity, physical abuse, emotional abuse, abandonment, confusion and frustration. Just look at the boom in the number of self-help books that have been written in the past 20 years. The problem is that emotional healing is not a self-help endeavor. There are too many people attempting to self-correct or self-heal. I want to make sure that I am completely lucid when I say that true healing comes from God and God alone. You simply make yourself available and submit to his movement.

 

The reason that I feel so compelled to write this series is that there are lot of people that are out there saying that healing is needed and they either provide no direction in obtaining healing or they are nebulous and ambiguous at best when describing the healing process. I want to reach out to those that are suffering from emotional damage and direct them to the feet of Christ so they may experience the healing that I have personally experienced.

 

Some may think that it is the multiple degrees in theology that qualifies me to write on this topic, but it is not. My studies have equipped me to engage God’s Word in a way that allows me to adequately teach and share His precious truths, but what qualifies me to speak about emotional healing is I have experienced emotional strain to put it lightly. I was standing at the door of perdition, one step away from total destruction when Christ called out to me; “Come unto me all who are heavy laden and I will give you rest (Matt. 11:28).” I was in need of deliverance from the pain and hurt that could be traced back to my childhood to a great extent, but God rescued me and restored my joy. So, a great deal of what I am writing will not be information gleaned from a textbook, but an expression of what experience has taught me.

 

Many of you are in need of rest; many need that same healing I experienced, you have been yearning to be delivered from the pain that has paralyzed you for so long. It is my prayer that as we take this journey over the next several weeks that you will begin your healing process by which God will restore your joy and re-establish the peace your life so desperately needs.

It is my belief that the two major sides in emotional and psychological healing are polarized and many believe they are diametrically opposed to one another. I am speaking of faith and psychology. I will endeavor to bridge the gap between the two as together they become synergistically powerful.

 

On one side, psychology provides a systematic process by which emotional stability can be re-established and healing accomplished. The thing is by itself, it lacks the Divine touch of God and denies the healing power of the Holy Spirit. On the other side, we have a bunch of believers verbally proclaiming their faith and desire for healing, but they continue to walk in defeat. This is because the healing process requires an understanding of behavior and how it impacts a person’s ability to heal. In an extremely simplified analogy, an alcoholic can speak healing and deliverance through faith, but hanging out in a bar will not be conducive to deliverance or healing.

 

I believe that a great deal of the anarchy, chaos, and inadequacy witnessed within the Christian nucleus of this country can be attributed to unhealed emotions. We have a bunch of abnormal people attempting to carry out normal lives. We have broken people marrying. We have broken people parenting. We have broken people taking on positions of leadership. The list goes on. Broken people raise broken children. Broken individuals create broken marriages.

 

I entitled this series “Damaged Goods No More” because God awaits to take what the enemy damaged and restore it. When you are no longer damaged goods you can engage your purpose with efficacy and certainty. When the cracks in your armor have been mended you can withstand the pressures of the moment. Last night I was out for a ride on my bike and noticed a great deal of commotion near the freeway. When I went to investigate I discovered that a man had jumped to his death. Immediately, my mind begin to ponder what could have been going through this man’s mind at the point he decided to end his life. Before this year I could not understand the force that would drive a person to end it all, but this year I became acquainted with a darkness that was stifling and suffocating. For the first time in my life I was afraid that I might break. Did I contemplate suicide? No, but that was by the grace of God and due to the fact that I had received emotional healing, which prepared me to withstand the excruciating pain and the immense pressure.

 

God desires that you be whole and fit for kingdom work, so he longs to heal and strengthen you in your weaknesses. Please understand that this is not about circumventing life’s struggles, God has great purpose hidden in your struggles. This series is about becoming whole so that you are prepared to engage life’s struggles with confidence.

 

What are some of the ways that damaged emotions manifest themselves?

  • A deep sense of worthlessness – this includes feelings of anxiety, inadequacy and an inferiority complex.
  • Perfectionism – this includes ideas of never being able to satisfy oneself, God and others.
  • Hyper-sensitivity – being offended by the slightest of actions. This person has normally been hurt or disappointed in a manner that was extraordinarily painful.
  • Fear-filled – this person is overpowered by the simplest of circumstances and is constantly struggling with the question “why?”.
  • Sexual promiscuity – this person is looking to fill their emotional void through a physical connections.
  • Proclivity to enter abusive relationships – This can be tied to feelings worthless.

 

As with any issue I address, the Bible will be my foundation. Let’s look at what Peter had to say about the Word of God:

 

For His divine power has bestowed upon us all things that [are requisite and suited] to life and godliness, through the [[d]full, personal] knowledge of Him Who called us by and to His own glory and excellence (virtue). (2 Peter 1:3, AMP)

 

Let us also look at what Paul had to say concerning the scriptures:

 

16 Every Scripture is God-breathed (given by His inspiration) and profitable for instruction, for reproof and conviction of sin, for correction of error and discipline in obedience, [and] for training in righteousness (in holy living, in conformity to God’s will in thought, purpose, and action),

17 So that the man of God may be complete and proficient, well fitted and thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Tim. 3:16-17, AMP)

 

 

So we can clearly see the ability of scripture to provide direction as well as provide that which is necessary to become functional in kingdom work. I want you to know that no matter the depth of your emotional damage, god is able. Irregardless to how long you have languished at the bottom of the pit of despair, God will incline to your call.

 

There are numerous elements to the healing process, but I can’t think of one thing that hinders the healing process more than the unwillingness to forgive and let go.

 

22 And Jesus *answered saying to them, “(R) Have faith in God. 23 (S)Truly I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be taken up and cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that what he says is going to happen, it will be grantedhim.24 Therefore I say to you, (T)all things for which you pray and ask, believe that you have received them, and they will be granted you.25 Whenever you(U)stand praying,(V)forgive, if you have anything against anyone, so that your Father who is in heaven will also forgive you your transgressions.26 [[f](W)But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father who is in heaven forgive your transgressions.”] (Mark 11:22-26, NASB)

 

Forgiveness is the first step in the healing process. Not only receiving forgiveness from God, but offering forgiveness to anyone that has offended you. In the aforementioned scriptural passage, right after Jesus emphasizes the power in faith-filled prayer, He immediately points to the quickest way to render it ineffective; unforgiveness. Unforgiveness is the refusal to release someone of an emotional debt they have to you because of some wrong perpetrated by them.

 

Most people base their decision not to forgive on their feelings, but forgiveness has nothing to do with feelings. Forgiveness is a choice and you can choose to forgive irrespective to your feelings. When you refuse to forgive you immediately stifle your healing and block your blessings. Jesus did not say to periodically forgive, He said that whenever you stand praying, forgive. This points to the need to make sure that you have forgiven. Many of you have been fighting to breakthrough to God for your healing, but He is waiting on you to let of the very thing that is emotionally rotting you away from the inside out. No healing is possible until you let go.

 

Many of you are thinking that this person does not deserve your forgiveness, but Jesus never indicated that deserving forgiveness was a prerequisite for offering it. In fact, in our own relationship with God, if our forgiveness was based on whether we deserved it or not, we would be wallowing in the guilt of our sin. Another thing that unforgiveness does is block us from experiencing the emancipation of God’s forgiveness which places an unbearable weight upon our already fragile shoulders.

 

So, whatever you are holding against someone for past transgressions, let it go. This also includes forgiving yourself. Sometimes the hardest one to forgive is yourself. When you take a look at how you have screwed up a particular situation and presumably ruined your life, it can be easy to hold yourself hostage through unforgiveness. You must take your failures to God, only his shoulders are broad enough to bear them. When I began my healing process, I had to forgive my father who I had never met (The first time I saw him was at his funeral), but more important I had to forgive myself for my own failures as a father. I had to acknowledge my responsibility in the matter, but just as quickly I had to turn it over to God. The burden is not mine to bear.

 

A quick side note:  I have had people ask me if I believed opening up my life and being transparent about my past failures was beneficial to my ability to minister. My answer is always, absolutely. No man, no matter how powerful his contribution to the kingdom is without a list of failures. In fact, I have seen where some of the greatest men of God had some of the greatest failures to their account. Jacob, who later became Israel (by whom the nation of Israel was named), was a deceiver who stole his brother’s birthright. Even so, he wrestled with God at Peniel and God changed his name from Jacob (deceiver) to Israel (Prince with God). Elijah lost faith at the threat of Jezebel. David ordered a census and caused the death of 70,000 of his best soldiers, and let’s not forget about Beersheba (and yet, God called him a man after His own heart). Paul was a murderer and Peter denied Christ. So why would I attempt to present an image of someone that has never stumbled?

 

I digress. Back to forgiveness. When you forgive you retrieve the power that others have stolen from you or in some cases you have given away. Before God can move in to heal you the wall of unforgiveness must be demolished. God wants to do something extraordinarily exceptional in your life. He desires to heal you, but He wants to do more than just heal. God wants to supercharge your purpose and fine tune your vision. He wants to position you to be in the midst of His movement. Yes, healing is available and so much more. ~ Dr. Rick Wallace

